Pay It Forward (A Eulogy for Michael J LaRocque)

Albert Pike wrote: ‘What we have done for ourselves alone, dies with us; what we have done for others and the world, remains and is immortal’

My first impression of Mike LaRocque was of how intimidating he was, from his posture, and what I heard about his success and achievements (a successful businessman, former member of US Marine Corps, a combat soldier with two purple heart medals among other honors, no less), and his bravery; how could one not be intimidated by him? I wanted him to approve of me so much as he was the father of my future husband.

Later that day, the day I first met him, my impression changed to, how could one not love him? Indeed my then-fiancée was right – despite any first impression one might get from him, he had the biggest heart in the world. I will never forget that day, the day I saw the pure sincerity, when he welcomed me to the family.

I learned about Mike LaRocque from my husband. Some of the many virtues I admire so much in my husband are his strength, his resilience, and his independence. Not only does my husband have those virtues, but he also taught me how to be strong, to be resilient, and to be brave. I became a better and stronger person in the 5 years we’ve known each other.  And today, I realize I owe it to Mike LaRocque.

Mike raised my husband to be the man he is, and beyond that, he taught him in a way that my husband understands that Mike LaRocque’s virtues of strength, resilience, independence, loyalty, and unconditional love, are to be taught to others. It is his legacy. A valuable legacy, worth more than any precious object in this world. It is a legacy that will be passed by his family and friends long after he’s gone. Because that is just the way Mike Larocque is, for his family and his friends.

We might say our goodbyes to Mike LaRocque today, but his legacy will continue to live, among his family, his friends, his children, and his future grandchildren.

Your proud daughter in law,

Ivo

The LaRocque Family

 

Leave a Reply

